Many yesterdays – few tomorrows

I’ll be 68 this year…that’s 2 away from 70. Where has the time gone? I’m from a time when everything was made of metal and you flagged down the horse-drawn Ice wagon for a 25 cent block of ice for your ice box. Milk was left on your door step and doctors made house calls. A pack of cigarettes was a quarter and a gallon of gas was 32 cents. I sat at my Great Grand Mother’s feet and listened to “The Shadow” and “Amos and Andy”. We were the first on our block to have a TV…a DuPont in a beautiful dark wood cabinet with doors that closed to hide that little 16 inch black and white screen. I remember trips to the corner drug store that had a tube tester. I was so proud the first time I was given that task. And that drug store also had hamburgers and milkshakes the likes of which I’ve not tasted since.   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

